amateur golf
amateur golf

Weetabix Bonus


The last five winners of the Weetabix Women's British Open have been granted exemption into the $2.9 million US Women's Open, the richest tournament in ladies' golf.

The only possible beneficiary of this new USGA ruling is American Emilee Klein, who lifted the title in 1996. Her successors - Karrie Webb (1997), Sherri Steinhauer (1998-99) and Sophie Gustafson (2000) - are all certain to
be exempt for the tournament which will be played from May 31-June 3 at Pine
Needles Lodge and Golf Club in Southern Pines, North Carolina.

Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page
Part of the Golf Today Network