amateur golf
amateur golf

EGU Gold Medal


Once again there is a strong junior contingent competing for the English Golf Union Gold Medal to be played at Woodhall Spa Golf Club on the 18th and 19th August.

Among the 8 juniors attempting to emulate Chris Ellis's achievement last year of becoming the EGU Handicap Golfer of the Year are 15 year olds Chris McNair (John O'Gaunt), Christopher Thompson (Bamburgh Castle), Lee Rowbotham (Oswestry) and Wesley Blackburn (Garforth).

Cheshire's Anthony Stone (2) has the lowest handicap in the event which is open to all male golfers of clubs affiliated to the EGU. Qualifying rounds are played at club level with the leading players in each county going forward to the final. The number of places per county depends on the number of affiliated clubs the scale being one place per 20 clubs.

This year 78 players will compete over the Bracken Course at Woodhall Spa on Saturday 18th August with the final round of this 36-hole Stableford competition on Sunday 19th.


Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page
Part of the Golf Today Network