Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information

SGU Men's Order of Merit to Tee-Off at Craigmillar Park
12th April 2012

The Scottish Golf Union Men's Order of Merit swings into action this weekend with the first counting event of 2012 to be contested at the Craigmillar Park Open.

On Saturday and Sunday a field of 78 players will set out in pursuit of success at the Edinburgh venue, seeking to begin their season with victory as they bid to emulate the achievement of 2011 Men's Order of Merit winner James White.

The Lundin player won twice last year, at the Tennant Cup and the North of Scotland Open Amateur Stroke Play, en route to edging Graeme Robertson (Glenbervie) to the overall Men's crown.

In a change from previous years, positions in the 2012 SGU Men's Order of Merit will be determined by the points players receive in the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR). 

As such, the SGU Order of Merit - contested over 15 events - will be updated following the weekly Wednesday WAGR update rather than on a Monday.

The move has been driven by the Scottish Golf Performance team, who believe the points allocation change will give the SGU Men's Order of Merit table a more accurate ranking of players' performances come the end of the season.

Steve Paulding, Scottish Golf Performance Manager, said: "The SGU has changed the Men's Order of Merit scoring to align more closely with the World Amateur Golf Ranking to ensure that Order of Merit points gained best reflect the event format and quality of field at each completion.

"With us now using the World Amateur Golf Ranking and SGU Order or Merit to make automatic selections for key events, it is imperative that the Order of Merit ranking system provides us with players most likely to succeed on the international stage."  

The Craigmillar Park Open, a 72-hole tournament with a 36-hole cut for top 30 and ties, boasts a stellar list of former champions.

Great Scottish amateurs Ronnie Shade and Charlie Green have emerged victorious in the past, along with the likes of Raymond Russell, Marc Warren, Steven O'Hara, Scott Jamieson, Craig Watson, Lloyd Saltman and Gavin Dear. Englishman Sir Nick Faldo, the six-time Major winner, also won in 1976 before turning professional.

Last year's event - staged for a 50 th time - was also particularly notable as Greg Paterson won a low-scoring event with a record aggregate of 23-under-par, closing with rounds of 64 and 62.

Paterson's Fife colleague White looked to be heading for victory  after opening up a four-shot cushion thanks to a course record 60 in the third round but Greg, who started the final 18 holes six off the lead, came surging through to beat White by three shots, who closed with a 71.

Craigmillar Park Golf Club is a parkland test with panoramic views over Edinburgh. The club was constituted in 1895 and moved to its present location in 1907. It was extended to 18 holes (designed by five-time Open champion James Braid) in 1927.

>> Click here for the draw sheet for the Craigmillar Park Open

Note: Points to determine the SGU Boys' Order of Merit, sponsored by Scottish Hydro, will remain the same as in previous years.

Charity Golf Days
Our calendar, plus news of people and events raising money for good causes through golf.

Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG Coupe - the world’s greatest road-going V8?
Motoring Features from Golf Today

So what are these worth?
A look at the valuations of various items of golf ephemora that readers own.

Golf Course Directory
The world's most comprehensive and up to date guide to over 18,000 golf courses worldwide.

Golfing A-Z
Stableford? Condor? Hole in One records? How much does Tiger earn? You'll find it all here.
© 1996-2014 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Newsletter - Contact Us